First Look: The Miseducation Of Cameron Post | Emily M. Danforth

When Cameron Post’s parents die suddenly in a car crash, her shocking first thought is relief. Relief they’ll never know that, hours earlier, she had been kissing a girl.

But that relief doesn’t last, and Cam is soon forced to move in with her conservative aunt Ruth and her well-intentioned but hopelessly old-fashioned grandmother. She knows that from this point on, her life will forever be different. Survival in Miles City, Montana, means blending in and leaving well enough alone (as her grandmother might say), and Cam becomes an expert at both.

Then Coley Taylor moves to town. Beautiful, pickup-driving Coley is a perfect cowgirl with the perfect boyfriend to match. She and Cam forge an unexpected and intense friendship — one that seems to leave room for something more to emerge. But just as that starts to seem like a real possibility, ultrareligious Aunt Ruth takes drastic action to ‘fix’ her niece, bringing Cam face-to-face with the cost of denying her true self — even if she’s not exactly sure who that is.

The Miseducation of Cameron Post is a stunning and unforgettable literary debut about discovering who you are and finding the courage to live life according to your own rules. [via GoodReads]

Reading Recap: March 2017

The pile’s rather small this month, and that’s because The You I’ve Never Known was a doosy of a read. I did some finagling and decided that I’m not going to review giant books like that one. I’m not sure where my page cutoff will be but I know for sure that I will not be doing in-depth reviews for anything 600+ pages.

I also decided, since paperbacks are the bane of my existence and they FRICKIN’ HATE ME…if a hardback copy isn’t available, I’m getting the eBook edition because I have a Kindle Keyboard that desperately needs some lovin’. I know, I know, it’s not the same as a physical book, but it’s a pretty good compromise I think. There’s only a very small percentage of my TBR pile that got “converted” to eBooks anyway. No eBook edition? Well, sadly I’ll have to pass up that book. It’s fine, because my TBR pile is now 300+ deep and steadily growing. *gulp*

Anyhoo,  Here’s what I read in March!

PHYSICAL BOOKS

We Are Okay by Nina LeCouer – 3/5 Stars

The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins – 5/5 stars

10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac – 5/5 stars

[not pictured, only because I didn’t think I would finish it in time. review to be added.] Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

EBOOKS

Adventure Time: Marceline Gone Adrift #1 by Meredith Gran – 5/5 stars

My Lady King by Kayla Bashe – 1/5 stars / DNF @ 10%

First Look: Wintersong | S. Jae-Jones

The Instant New York Times Bestseller!

Bustle – 2017 YA Must Reads
Paste Magazine – Most Anticipated YA Books of 2017

Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and The Beauty and the Beast.

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones’s Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

“Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen [via GoodReads]

 


 

I’M FRICKIN’ SCREAMING YOU GUYS!

As soon as I read the words “Labyrinth Retelling” about this book on a book tumblr blog [sue me, I don’t remember the exact one, as I follow a handful of them for reblogging content moreso than latest book news / book recommendations.] I was super sold. Like it could probably epic bomb and I was still sold on it. Labyrinth was a huge favorite of mine as a child and I obviously still watch it years later. My fiance even cosplayed Jareth at a past DragonCon and he was an absolute hit!

Let’s be real, Jareth is hella pretty and if I had the chance I’d be like TAKE THIS UNSUPERVISED CHILD AND LOVE ME.

Can’t Wait Wednesday #6 – The Upside of Unrequited

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings to spotlight and talk about the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released as well. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. Find out more here.

CAN’T WAIT WEDNESDAY #6 – THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right? [via goodreads]

The Upside of Unrequited releases on April 11th, 2017.


 

Alright, let’s be real, being a Tolkien nerd myself I’d probably fall for Molly’s co-worker. Granted he could deal with the fact that I’m ace. *laughs* I’m super hyped for this one considering all the positive reviews of ARCs I’ve seen. Let’s hope it’s a good one!!